Alison Wright from Brighton, East Sussex

Mum of two Alison Wright,  52,  is on strong painkillers and sleeps for up to 14 hours a day as it is the only way she gets any real relief.from the constant pain she suffers after having a polypropylene mesh sling implant.

Alison Wright.
Alison Wright.

“I wish I had been asked some basic questions before having the operation in the first place,” she said.

“My body’s strong foreign body response might have been predicted if I had been asked more questions about allergies.

“I have allergies to synthetic clothes. I am allergic to hair dye, nickel, plasters and have sensitive skin.

“Surely that would be a sign that I might have a reaction to the plastic mesh. I think there should be more studies carried out on women like myself to find out more about the side effects – a lot more research is needed I believe.

Warning women

“Polypropylene is known to go brittle in bodies over time so it shouldn’t be used. If I can stop another woman going through what I have suffered in the past five years – then this has got to be worth it,” said Alison.

Alison had a ‘simple’ procedure to cure a common but embarrassing women’s problem when she  had a TVTO operation to fix stress incontinence, after being told by her surgeon that it was the latest and best way to solve the problem. That was in 2012.

Alison, who has two grown up children, damaged her pelvis in a fluke accident which saw her drop through a floor in 2008, damaging her pelvic floor and hip, when she fell astride the iron grate that had dislodged as she walked over it.

Four years later she was becoming more and more incontinent and felt something needed to be done.

The pain she suffered at the time of the accident is comparable to the pain she now suffers on a daily basis since having the operation, which included sutures to support her prolapsed uterus and a TVTO mesh implant to lift her urethra.

“The pain after the operation was terrible, it was mostly in my left buttock where the surgeon had attached my uterus to a ligament attached to my sacrum, with sutures.

Intense pain

On a positive side my continence was good, but I was in constant intense pain and I had a constant discharge, but no infection,” said Alison.

Two years later, after going backwards and forwards to consultants, her surgeon agreed to remove sutures.

“I couldn’t believe it when I saw what had been taken out of my body it was about 10cm long – not what you expect when you hear the word sutures or stitches,” said Alison.

Unfortunately that did not solve the problem as one suture was left in and Alison had a further operation in 2015 to remove that.

“Basically my body was rejecting these foreign bodies that had been put inside me. When the final suture was removed it felt wonderful, there was no longer any pain in my buttock.

Sex life lost

But unfortunately the tape used in the TVTO operation started to cut through and Alison could feel it just under her urethra.

“The tape’s sharp edges made having sex impossible,” she said.

“My GP referred me to another consultant in Eastbourne. Initially, he couldn’t feel anything, until I pointed him in the right direction – then he couldn’t believe he had missed it.

“He booked me in straight away to remove the middle section of the TVTO in October last year, and it has been both brilliant and terrible.

“I am still continent – even when I sneeze – but I now have a lot of pain deep in my right groin.

“I am hoping it is a fragment remaining in the vaginal section that is causing this new pain, as this can be corrected.

“Removing the last bits of tape from each side of my groin has high risks, so I want to be sure it is essential before I go ahead with that. They want to me to go to Cambridge for that tricky operation.”

 

 

9 thoughts on “Alison Wright from Brighton, East Sussex

  1. Yes sometimes feel like giving up but I have to keep going for my family x thank you for responding appreciate hearing advice and ways to cope xx

    Like

  2. Remedies at home that might help, lavender bath salts, soothing music, like in a spa setting, I just use youtube off my cell phone. Any aromatherapy candles, peace and quiet if possible or a quiet setting like a park, or garden. I went from having a crazy fun, full of life, lifestyle, to completely closing myself off from the world. Social Anxiety Disorder set in, along with panic attacks, and a lot of stress. It’s now going into my 4th year of trying to figure out how to handle it. I don’t go to family things anymore and I haven’t seen my friends all that much. I feel abandoned by my former life. Noone was there when it all first started. Destressing now, so important, I have to deal with it somehow. Pain, comes out of nowhere along with restroom trips, my body is really messed up, and so it’s easier for now, to just stay home, until I can deal with one thing at a time. I really hope your pain and suffering will ease and a peacefully quality of life comes your way. God bless you mesh angel

    Like

  3. I didn’t know about mesh implant until I woke from surgery in 2014, my life has been hell since. Back and forth to hospitals and tests done and have been told I’m incurable ☹️ I’m not on Facebook only twitter so will be keeping myself updated via the web page and twitter. I’m gobsmacked how many women are suffering! I thought I was on my own and since the news last week it’s been emotional knowing we are not alone x

    Like

  4. IM INTERESTED TO HEAR ABOUT SLING THE MESH. I HAD AN OPERATION FOR BLADDER INCONTINENCE TEN YEARS AGO. RECENTLY I HAVE HAD BLADDER PROBLEMS WITH A BURNING PAIN. I HAVE PAINS IN MY GROIN AND LEGS. IM WAITING FOR AND APPOINTMENT WITH THE UROLOGIST WHO PERFORMED THE OP TO FIND EXACTLY WHAT HE PUT THERE. I WANT THIS REMOVED IF ITS MESH. I AM WORRIED HOWEVER ABOUT DOING SO AND WORRIED IF I DONT.

    Like

  5. I didn’t know about mesh implant until I woke from surgery in 2014, my life has been hell since. Back and forth to hospitals and tests done and have been told I’m incurable ☹️ I’m not on Facebook only twitter so will be keeping myself updated via the web page and twitter. I’m gobsmacked how many women are suffering! I thought I was on my own and since the news last week it’s been emotional knowing we are not alone x

    Like

    1. Hello, my name is michelle and I had a tvm in 2009, revisional due to excessive erosion through the vaginal wall, stiches were in there that didn’t dissolve and now I experience extreme pain when passing stool, which has caused a lot of different other side effects. I too am blogging about my 9 year journey in parts and also explaining different home remedies to help with chronic constant pain. I am so sorry to hear about your mesh nightmare. I know how it feels and all I can offer is my experience to help other patients. my blog is called westcoastmeshfighter.wordpress.com, any comments are welcome, I just started my twitter, Instagram and G+, life care is really important if we want any possible quality of life. I hope your pain eases, god bless and hugs

      Like

      1. Thank you, oh feel like I’m at a brick wall, my pain clinic has cancelled my appointment for the 4th time now since February with no explanation, I’m so angry. But am waiting for letter to see Sophier Elneil in London, she is my last hope on this. Sorry about your issues, it’s awful and shouldn’t have even been inserted in us. X

        Like

      2. Hi pam, the medical world regarding pain management is really confusing. Here in the states, a united front on a war against opioid abuse is currently going on. It’s really sad because all of a sudden, almost a year ago, my doctor who had been prescribing my meds, all of a sudden stopped. One of the main reasons I am telling my story in parts, is because pain management, medication, how we are treated as patients has become so bad, then you add emotional turmoil and confusion and all of a sudden, trust is lost. I have changed my doctor so many times, until finally, I got a internal medicine doctor. It’s even hard to get an appointment with him, almost 6 weeks. Then running the team of doctors for your care. I have basically turned into a advocacy for chronic pain patients and the care that is needed to help mesh patients deal with pain, emotion, family, friends. Everything changes when you have to live with this, one thing I have learned is that if I don’t fight back, then I won’t get the appropriate care I need. It’s so hard, but don’t give up. I know together, around the world, we can make a difference to help each other. I have found myself heading to the hospital if my pain become too much. god bless and it’s so nice to hear from you, I hope I can help out anyway that I can.

        Like

Leave a Reply

